World Cup t20

World Cup t20
LIVE & Highlights wct20


South Africa to host IPL

Johannesburg: South Africa will host the second edition of the DLF-Indian Premier League from April 18, IPL Commissioner Lalit Modi and Cricket South Africa Chief Executive Gerald Majola announced here on Tuesday.

The decision to accept South Africa’s offer to host the second edition of DLF-IPL has much to do with the fact that the promised 4-00 p.m. and 8-00 p.m. (IST) start of the games could be achieved more practically here than in England, which was the other venue nation being considered.

The notoriously fickle English weather in April and early part of May was another huge reason why the DLF-IPL tournament has headed to South Africa rather than England. It was estimated that rain could seriously affect as many as 70 per cent of the DLF-IPL T20 matches if they were scheduled for England.

The teams will start arriving in South Africa from April 1, 2009. The opening ceremony will be held in Cape Town, with the inaugural match being played on April 18. The final is likely to be held at the Wanderers in Johannesburg. As many as five other cities – Durban, Centurion, Port Elizabeth and Cape Town – have already been identified. East London and Bloemfontein are competing for a host city berth.

The schedule for the 59 matches and the host venues for the eight franchises will be released shortly. Royal Challengers are likely to be based in Johannesburg.


Watch IPL Live